This God, Who Goes Out of His Way (Part I)

Each morning, on the way to his school, my grandson and I listen to Chuck Swindoll, and then I finish the sermon alone on the drive back home. This morning, Pastor Chuck talked about Mary and the secluded delivery of Jesus and how, “according to Max Lucado” (said Pastor Chuck), “Mary had changed God’s diaper.” By that point, I’d pulled into my driveway and was sitting there with the engine idling. I had to think about that.

This is the same God who spoke light and life and order into existence. This is the same God who stepped down onto Mt. Sinai: “…smoke billowed up from it like smoke from a furnace, the whole mountain trembled violently, and the sound of the trumpet grew louder and louder.” This is the same God who peered into one idolatrous heart then opened the ground and swallowed an entire section of idolatrous Hebrews.

What frightening Force is this who surrendered Himself to a helpless infant body and would need His diapers changed?

This is the Judge with whom each of us has or will one day stand before.

This is the Husband who pursues the timeline of humanity with unalterable affection.

This is a King so rich in power He can afford to be meek and mild.

This is the God-Man who often goes out of His way to remind me that He’s here, right next to me. The kingdom of God couldn’t be nearer…

3 thoughts on “This God, Who Goes Out of His Way (Part I)

  1. The first painting took me to this website: jmhorn.blogspot.com
    Lots and lots of good stuff. Stop by and read some of his posts.

Leave a Reply

